My forever family

26245_1353879842142_6213260_nToday 12/31/2014 is my last day as a ward of the state. I have officially aged out of Connecticut’s foster care system. I am on my own! No more social workers, stressful family visits and or six month reviews. At age 17 I meet a family that would become my forever family. I remember telling them that I was not meant for a family and that I didn’t know how to function within a family. . I warned my mom and family of my mental health, that it drains me and the people around me; every negative reason I could think of was my excuse because history had taught me that I was no good and didn’t deserve a family.

26245_1353874081998_2015188_n

They took me in anyways. It was hard, I’m hospitalized often, we fought, I moved out, and moved back in. Some days I wanted to never talk to them again and we even hurt each other’s feelings. However, they didn’t get give up on me. Sometimes I wish they did. My mom said “you are the daughter we chose and sometimes families fight.” I’m still getting adjusted

26245_1353873121974_7840498_n

Not to mention I have a “Dad.” I’m too blessed.

2 thoughts on “My forever family”

  1. Think of where you’ve been and how far you’ve come! From not sure you wanted a family, could be a part of a family, driving your family nuts, cared to stay in a family to where you are today. Now you are staying a few days during vacation in order to prepare for the next big adventure! Life is hard, families can be hard but it’s all worth it. Florida is going to be great and you’ve worked hard and long to get there. Embrace it, enjoy it, make the most of it. You’ve got this!

    Mom

  2. You sound like an amazing young lady with an amazing family. We just brought our 17-yr-old home home from foster care. I would love to hear about some of the things that helped you to adjust to your “forever family.” Best of luck to you and your family! It sounds like life has a lot to offer you!

Leave a Reply

